Tart with apricots, almonds and thyme

I have been a bit quiet recently. I have had no time (and didn’t take the time) to write news posts, take picture of dishes and write recipes. I think it’s the first time since I started the blog that I don’t want to dedicate too much time doing that, mostly because I’ve has less time to cook recently and also because I’m not sure whether I want to keep putting « any » recipe on the blog or if I’d rather be more selective. I say that and immediately regret not having a picture of the salad I prepared yesterday (potato, green beans,raw courgette – just grated in long and thin slivers, boiled eggs and ricotta, all seasoned with fresh basil, fennel and a mustard + olive oil dressing) as it was really tasty…

Anyway, I have prepared this great tart for a diner with friends and it definitely deserves a nice post. It’s a very simple basic apricot tart but with a little touch of fresh thyme which makes a great difference. The recipe is from Chef Nini with (very) minor changes.

tarte_abricot_thym4

Ingredients (for a 24cm baking pan)

  • For thethyme and almond pastry
    • 180g flour
    • 100g ground almond
    • 40g icing sugar
    • 100g butter at room temperature
    • 1 medium egg
    • 3 springs of fresh thyme
  • For the almond cream
    • 50g ground almond
    • 1 medium egg
    • 30g caster sugar
    • 50/60g fresh ricotta
  • A dozen of apricot
  • Flaked almonds

tarte_abricot_thym2

Preparation

  • Prepare the pastry: mix all dry ingredients, add the butter and finally the egg.
  • Wrap in cling film and let it rest in the fridge for 30 minutes

tarte_abricot_thym1

  • Preheat the oven to 180°
  • Meanwhile, mix the ground almonds, the egg, sugar and ricotta
  • Cut the apricots in 2 and remove the kernels
  • Roll the pastry out on a floured work surface,
  • Lay the pastry on baking paper, put it in the baking pan and finish spreading it with your fingers
  • Spread the almond cream on the pastry and add the apricots
  • Sprinkle with a bit of sugar, flaked almonds and fresh thyme
  • Cook for 35/40 minutes and serve tepid

tarte_abricot_thym3

 

 

 

 

2 Commentaires

  1. Paroncle

    Dear Talking Belly, please keep on writing posts : I am a great fan and I will miss your recipes.

Laisser un commentaire